Questions for the journalist – part II

Okay, next question was one from Krosstar: How sophisticated are SL news outlets? Are they basically edited blogs with different reporters submitting work or do they have video and other technologies? Do you see this changing in the future?

My answer was that SL news outlets still have a long way to go before they can measure up to the best in first life. We don’t have any SL New York Times, The Guardian or Vanity Fair. It’s all pretty much run by idealistic amateurs, so SL news are still in their infancy – which is only natural, bearing in mind how relatively new Second Life still is. But yes, I think they will become more and more professional, and they will use video and other technologies. SLNN is already experimenting with video.

Trinity Coulter asked a really difficult question: What do I see as my biggest responsibility as a journalist? I answered that as an arts and entertainment editor, it is to keep our readers updated on all the cultural happenings that are going on in SL. Which isn’t a wrong answer, but I feel one should have – and I do have – higher ambitions, even though it’s a huge task to stay updated on the SL culture scene. Gee, all the things I miss every week. But there shouldn’t be enough just to write about what’s going on. I have a good art critic, Strawberry Holiday, but I should also write more analysis, and dare to take a more critical view. I feel there are quite a few things hyped as art in SL that don’t really deserve to be called that, as it’s simply not good enough.

And there we were, sort of. As I said: I learned at least as much from the questions and the debate that the others learned from my answers.

~ by theresecarfagno on March 3, 2008.

2 Responses to “Questions for the journalist – part II”

  1. Yes, the truth needs to be told, much SL art is banal and much more of the music I’ve seen is just awful.

    How about a piece on the great Kyle Beltran? We could interview him together!

  2. It’s about time, really. And maybe he’s got some interesting views on the SL music scene as well …

Leave a Reply

 
