Carfagno of Arabia

daughterofdesert.jpg

It all started with a pair of new shoes from Maitreya called «Desert boots». Or, it might have started even earlier than that, when I first saw the movie «Lawrence of Arabia» on a huge silverscreen some nine years ago. That’s when I became truly fascinated by the desert.

So, after I’d got the desert boots, I naturally thought: I need something to go with these. I need a desert outfit. Not an easy thing to find, but I ended up in a place where they sold uniforms from WWII, and purchased a British uniform like one of those legendary Desert Rats had. I was almost ready.

I once wrote an article on the roleplay sim 1001 Nights, and knew they had a good desert landscape. I also knew they sold clothes (but only silks for the women), and purchased my last thing there: A turban to protect my head from the sun. I put on my «Daugter of Desert» tag and was ready. Little did I know that my adventure would turn out quite different than what I expected.

I started outside the gate of the grand city, but following in the footsteps of the great «El Aurens», quickly made my way to the bedouin camp to look for a Prince Feisal who could tell me what Lawrence was told: ”I think you are another of these desert-loving English. No Arab loves the desert. We love water and green trees, there is nothing in the desert. No man needs nothing.” It would have been so classic, even if I’m not English.

But the bedu camp was empty. I was later to learn why. A bit disappointed, I made my way into one of the tents and sat down with a warm cup of sweet cinnamon tea.

desert1.jpg

Outside, I found a ship of the desert – a camel. I climbed up and gave it a «hut-hut», but it obviously didn’t feel like taking me anywhere. I went down and walked. After all, I have the coolest desert boots there is.

Ship of the desert

On a hill outside the bedu village, i found two bedus at last: A warrior and a shepherd dog, Les Trenkins and Phil ”Lupus” Carroll. They were kind of a team, and one day, when they had attacked the city guards, poor Lupus had been hurt, but so had one of the city guards. ”Let’s just say the guard’s arm will be sore for a while,” he said.

bedouins desert arabia

But they were both a bit sad, and told me the sim was about to pack up. The roleplay changing its format. People leaving. And while we were talking, I could see the city being dismantled in the horizon. I left with a ”salaam aleikum,” and got an ”aleikum salaam” with me on the way from Lupus.

In front of the city stood Simkin Coakes. ”Welcome to our fine sim. Too bad it’s closing now,” he said sadly. ”The 1001 roleplay as it was … is just gone. It was fun while it lasted.” He said it had been better than a Gor play, cause there, his girlfriend had been his slave, while here girls were allowed to carry swords and were expected to be equal to men. What a sweet guy he was.

arabian city baghdad 1001 nights

I walked around in the dismantled city when I suddenly got the message: «You are no longer allowed here and have 15 seconds to leave.» As I failed to do so, I was flown away outside the desert and left there, being told I had been ejected. What an anticlimatic end to a desert adventure.

~ by theresecarfagno on March 9, 2008.

6 Responses to “Carfagno of Arabia”

  1. You definitely caught something…
    The death of a sim… Not everyone has the occasion to see this.
    I hope something as magnificent will come out of the sand.
    And…
    I freakin’ love that hat !
    Hugs,
    Suzanne

  2. The whole outfit suits you really well, Tess! Bummer about the sim, though.

  3. Yes, Suzanne – it felt a bit strange. Maybe I shouldn’t have called it anticlimatic after all. Let’s see if we can get you a nice turban somewhere else!
    Hugs!

    Thanks, Veronique. Yes, the sim will be missed. I’m planning to use the landmark again, though, cause something new might already be there.

  4. Yes, I agree about anticlimatic perhaps not being the right word. Witnessing the end of a sim, quite dramatic I’d say! Love how you look in these pics, I had meant to check out the sim with you and Cake, we would have had such fun…

  5. I don’t understand why I didn’t visit it sooner after I’d written the article, and why I didn’t bring you and Cake there, Cat. I guess we have too many plans and too little time. But I will see if I can find a new desert sim, and then we’all go.

    Edit: Some ugly typos have been removed.

  6. […] you all know by now, I’m a sucker for the desert landscapes of SL. So when I saw this picture by Lem Skall, I ordered my ticket right away and put my desert […]

Leave a Reply

 
