Eco-friendly adventures in arcspace

arcspace1.jpg

Having heard about the architecture competition arranged by the magazine arcspace, I took a trip to their island to see how things were going. The challenge is to build a house of bamboo in Second Life that can be reproduced in first life, and it has to be eco-friendly.

Looking around, I was lucky enough to meet KK Jewell, also known as the FL editor of arcspace, Kirsten Kiser. ”It’s a pretty serious competition,” she told me. ”We’re all pioneers here trying to see whether it will work. My one goal is to make this a community for architects and designers. There are some brilliant designers in SL already, like Scope Cleaver, DB Bailey and Designer Dingson.”

kk jewell arcspace

But, she added: ”SL is time consuming, and you can not import the models you are working on in RL. Until that is possible, you will not see a lot of serious architects here.” She wants arcspace Island to be ”an inspiration to my readers to come to SL. A place where they connect to architecture, art, music; all the arts.”

When she first started to write about SL in arcspace, she got e-mails saying the magazine was too serious to write about it. Now, those e-mails have stopped. ”I hope something’s happening,” said Jewell.

We parted, and I ventured into the beautiful bamboo forest. I don’t know what it is about bamboo that makes me love it so much. Oh wait, I just said it: It’s cause it’s beautiful. I was surprised by a tropical rainstorm, and found shelter in some nice builds.

Then I met a competing architect at work: Werner Kurosawa. He was building a sphere-like house, inspired by igloos and straw huts. ”The eskimos and Africans have known for a long time that a sphere is the best shape. It gives the biggest volume with the smallest surface, which means less material used, and lesser surface to heat up or cool down.”

arcspace3.jpg

He had two spheres: One a sketch, the other would be the finished build. ”It’s made with real life sized bamboo poles, 25 meters long, 49 pieces. With them, I can make a circle of 8,74 meters. They should be steamed and flamed to make the curves, or you could bend them when they grow already. That’s what they did in the 13th century with oaks,” he said, and gave me a small lecture in medieval church building. The bamboo sticks will be covered with polymer, a chemical binding you can make from potato flowers.

After joking around about our heights a little, he showed me some furniture he’d made, based on his 2,22 meters, which were all too large for my 1,87 – and I thought I was tall. Luckily, a cozy bed like a huge pillow that he’d made both in FL and SL, didn’t require any particular height, and he was kind enough to give me one.

With that, I said goodbye and ended my adventures in arcspace.

~ by theresecarfagno on March 31, 2008.

4 Responses to “Eco-friendly adventures in arcspace”

  1. I would have to agree with Kirsten Kiser about the difficulty of bringing a rl model to sl.3D designing in real ife is totally different from sl standards right now.The absence of real architects and engineers explains also the image of huge sims with complete lack of rimotomy (i hope this is the english word-lol).In any case,the initiative is excellent.Bravo!

  2. Yes Chrisy – it’s a challenge. But I hope that more architects will use SL to dream those impossible dreams and build those impossible builds. For their own and our sake :-)

  3. ummm…let’s hope so :D

  4. […] Postcards ArcSpace Please take a look at my blog for more text and photos.Visitez beautiful ArcSpace island you – highly recommended . div […]

Leave a Reply

 
