/me sighs

I have a habit of not complaining. Really. So, like a self pitying mom, I’ll just say I’m a bit disappointed over Linden Lab these days. You might not believe it, but this is something new. Sure, there have been SL sessions when the crashes just wouldn’t stop, the lag was like syrup, and – the horror! – the money transfer was down, making it impossible to shop. But these things have sorted themselves out, eventually, in a not too long time.

Now, on the other hand, it’s systematical. LL simply won’t let me use WindLight. And why? Because the new – and mandatory – version, has a huuuge problem with my Apple desktop mouse.

In short: The view function sucks. If I press the alt button to zoom in somewhere, it doesn’t work the first time. I have to do it one more time. And even then, it’s shaky and downright useless. When I press the arrow keys to get back to normal view, I don’t, and if I start walking, I walk around without taking the view with me, making me look like any of the other avatars walking around. I have to click on the ground once more to get normal view back.

I also move when the mouse moves over the screen, I can’t sit down in my chair or lie down in my bed, and only now and then can I change the time of the day. Taking attachments on and off is also a problem.

After being spoiled with the gorgeous WindLight graphics the last three months, it’s quite a drag to be forced back to the old viewer. And I wonder: Don’t they have a Mac desktop at LL? Just one?

~ by theresecarfagno on April 17, 2008.

2 Responses to “/me sighs”

  1. Nicholaz decided to make yet another viewer build with Windlight. I’m sure there will be a Mac build soon too.

  2. I hadn’t heard about Nicholaz before, but a search led me to his blog. Exciting! So he makes viewers that connect you to the grid, the same way you can choose between Safari, Firefox and IE to get on the web?

Leave a Reply

 
