I’m back :-)

Hello everyone – I’m glad to say I’m back in Second Life and fit for fun again. First Life took a tumble my user had to deal with, but she’s happier now. Thing is she didn’t want to enter SL when FL was bad. I can understand that. Although not even SL is a drama free zone, it’s generally a place where the sun more often shines, there’s often a party, good friends within reach, places to go, things to see, things to do, and (almost) everyone are beautiful. In short: SL can often be, and often is, a place for our users to escape in search for the good life. Which is cool, of course. I’ve met many great people who’ve said that.

In my case, SL has been a place of good friends and constant wonders, and also work. Good work, as a journalist for the fine folks at slnn.com. The side effect has been this: My user has always had a reason to go in-world, either out of a wish to meet friends, see a new and elegant sim, or out of obligation to work. It began to take much time. Too much time. She got to a point where she could actually put aside the work that pays her rents and food to go in-world. And that is not a good sign. She began to fear she had an addiction. And she’s promised herself never to be addicted to anything.

On top of these feelings came an emotional rollercoaster in the shape of a love story. It was time to take a break.

Yesterday I came back. I’d written a mail to my closest friends, and Nena and Cake had made a welcome committee. Not only that: They’d bought me a piece of land, and Nena had built a house to me. How sweet is that? It was enough to make me cry of joy. Cake was in Korea and had to go to bed, but me and Nena spent a lovely night together, dancing at The Esotericum while meeting Phideaux and Echo. Afterwards we just talked and talked, while I was busy answering IMs from other friends that welcomed me back. What a day.

It feels good to be back. I won’t be on as much as I used to (love story isn’t finished yet – and hopefully never will be). But I think it will be better than it was.

~ by theresecarfagno on September 23, 2008.

9 Responses to “I’m back :-)”

  1. Woot! So lovely that you’re back. Not that I get to see you very much, what with time zones and all. :\ FWIW, I’m now doing a DJ shift at the Velvet from 2-4 p.m. on Thursdays.

    Nice to hear there’s a love story going on. Best wishes with that! And virtual hugs from this side of the ocean (either one, take your pick).

  2. Dammit, I’m stuck logged in as this Véronique and not Veronique the avatar because that’s how your blog is set up (seems that some WordPress blogs just let you put your name, email, and URL in). If I log out, I lose connection to other blogs. Oh well, it’s all me anyway.

  3. I’m very happy you’re back, and glad I was able to even hug you already. Welcome home.

  4. Yay thanks Veronique! I’ll see if I can come to your DJ shift on Thursday. 2-4pm, that’s 11pm–1am here. That shouldn’t be too difficult. When it comes to log in issues, I’ve discovered that some blogs has something called OpenID where I can choose name and URL. I don’t know if that’s something you’re aware of already.

    Peter! Thanks! There will be more hugs to come :-)

  5. We never let you down Tess.

    Daniel

  6. Merci beaucopup Daniel :-)

  7. wb …so now I can hope for that article again? :-))))

  8. Welcome back… WELCOME! KUL KUL!

    /Tina – http://tinasuniversum.blogspot.com/

  9. Apmel: Oj, jag vet jag har lovat många gånger nu, men det e altså meningen att få den klar … ;-)

    Hej Tina! Trävligt att träffas :-) Nu ska jag blogrolla dig.

Leave a Reply

 
