He fell burning into the desert

senna2

Yesterday, I got quite surprised when I attended the opening of Sennaspirit Coronet’s photo exhibition. And why was that? Because he has taken a series of pictures on exactly the same topic as I: A pilot crashlands in the desert and struggles to survive. He has even taken his pictures in the same sim as I did, The Wastelands.

What’s that they say? ”Imitation is the most sincere form of flattery”? Or rather: ”Great minds think alike”? Okay, I’ll stick to that last one, because if it’s one thing I don’t suspect, it’s that Senna has stolen my idea.

I spoke to him during the opening, and he got a good laugh and was rather surprised himself when I told him about my pictures. He said he wanted to see them, so I gave him a landmark to Gina’s Gallery and a notecard with some information.

senna1

Senna’s pictures are shown at the Camera Obscura Gallery at Diabolus. The owner of the gallery is my friend MillaMilla Noel, and as she had visited my exhibition in December, she’d been aware of the similarities all the way. ”Maybe your pilot girl will meet his pilot boy in the desert,” she joked.

So, are his pictures any good? I’m glad to say they are. I think some of Senna’s pictures make mine look amateurish. Which means you should go and check him out.

senna3

But: I got another surprise this evening. Milla said she wanted me to make an exhibition for her gallery as well. What an honour. I now have thirty days to come up with 15-20 fresh new pictures. After this message, I gladly partied until the clock struck 12.

~ by theresecarfagno on April 3, 2009.

2 Responses to “He fell burning into the desert”

  1. Now that is a huge coincidence as well, but considering the athmosphere of the Wastelands maybe a quite obvious one too.

    Congratulations on the new exhibition opportunity – I look forward to what you come up with.

  2. Thank you, Peter. I promise I’ll do my best.

Leave a Reply

 
