The Champagne Rooms goes to Babbage

babbage

As you might remember, I sometimes dance at a burlesque club named The New Champagne Rooms. It’s great fun with elegant costumes and a beautiful venue reminiscent of something that could have been built in the 1920’s – with the music to match.

Much thanks to Ceejay Writer, I think, The Champagne Rooms have opened a new venue at Babbage. Yesterday, a crowd of lucky spectators could see the grand opening gala. First on stage was the one and only Ms Writer herself, in a fabulous costume with steaming pasties, reciting an essay on the importance of steam for the Babbage community as she danced. Most impressive.

babbage2

She was followed by the duo Fire For Thought, giving us a spectacular show of dancing and clever treatment of lit torches. And this will be the profile of The Champagne Rooms at Babbage: More vaudeville than burlesque. I wonder if I’ll be able to do my Hamlet act there one day?

~ by theresecarfagno on April 5, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Champagne Rooms goes to Babbage”

  1. Lovely writeup! Thank you! It was SUCH a fun evening, I truly enjoyed performing for the hometown crowd. Such a strange but good feeling to have the New Champagne Rooms in Babbage now. I’m so glad you could be there!

    Hamlet, eh? I’m intrigued!

  2. Thanks Ceejay – lovely evening. I’ll show you my Hamlet act soon :-)

Leave a Reply

 
